Unprocessed Living

A Healthy Living Recipe Box

Crock Pot Paleo Chicken Soup September 22, 2013

Filed under: Appetizer,Chicken,Crock pot,Main dish,My Favorites,Recipe,Snack,Veggies — Crista @ 10:34 pm

I didn’t really have the time to stand over the stove this morning and kind of wanted to get the crock pot going now that Fall is upon us anyway, so I decided to tweak my usual stovetop Paleo Chicken Soup recipe for the crock pot. I found this Slow Cooker Chicken Vegetable Soup recipe and borrowed some ideas from it to make my own. I have to say, it’s not bad! A little bland, but additional spices could easily be added, and I’m thinking I may try adding some fire roasted tomatoes next time for a different flare.

Ingredients:

2-3 free range, vegetarian fed chicken breasts
1 tbsp coconut oil
1 large sweet onion, chopped
4 cloves organic garlic, chopped
4 large organic carrots, sliced
3-4 stalks organic celery, sliced
4 cups organic low sodium chicken broth
2 tsp basil
1 tsp oregano
Fresh ground sea salt and black pepper, to taste

Chop onion and garlic and add with coconut oil to crock pot. Turn crock pot on high and let the garlic and onion heat up for about 10 minutes. Slice other veggies while crock pot is heating up. Turn crock pot to low (or keep on high for shorter cooking time) and add the chicken, veggies, broth, and spices. Cook on high for 4-6 hours or low for 6-8 hours. Remove the chicken to shred, or shred in soup. Stir and serve.

CrockpotChickenSoup

 

4 Responses to “Crock Pot Paleo Chicken Soup”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I just made this soup and it turned out AMAZING! I am so excited to eat it tomorrow 🙂 Thanks for the recipe.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Crista Says:

      Oh, so glad! Sorry, I haven’t kept up on this blog very much, but I’m revamping it and hoping to get back to some regular posting, with more of a “clean eating” focus. 🙂

      Like

  2. marcia Says:

    sorry to ask this… but if all I have is bone in chicken breasts will that work? will it just need a little bit more time? (i’m so not a great cook but i’m learning)

    Like

    • Crista Says:

      Hi Marcia…you can absolutely cook this with chicken on the bone, you’ll just have to remove the bones after cooking. I don’t think it will take an more time, and you may have more tender chicken as a result. I just don’t like dealing with the bones!

      Like


Leave a comment...

